About the Award


Broyles Award TropyhyIn 1996, the Broyles Award was established to recognize some of the most dedicated, hardest working people in America...the college football assistant coach. And, over the years, the award has done just that. Each year the five Broyles Award finalists are chosen from almost 1,500 assistant coaches representing 117 Division One college football programs. Each head coach can nominate one assistant coach from his staff. All nominations are reviewed by, and the five finalists chosen by, an enthusiastic selection committee comprised of 9 of college football's finest former head coaches.

1999 marked the beginning of a new award presented at the cermonies. The Lifetime Achievement Award has been given to former Texas A&M assistant coach Ray Dorr, San Diego State assistant coach Claude Gilbert, and LSU's Charlie McClendon for their many contributions to the game of college football.

In the prestigious history of college football, there are few coaches whose efforts have forever impacted the game. Bear Bryant, Knute Rockne, Frank Leahy and Eddie Robinson have set the standard for victories and championships on the gridiron. However, when it comes to selecting, developing and producing great assistant coaches, the legacy of Frank Broyles stands alone.

Broyles Assistant Coaches who became head coaches have won:

  • 15% of All Super Bowls
  • 5 College National Championships
  • More Than 40 Conference Titles
  • Over 2,000 Victories

Interesting Stats

89 finalists honored, representing 48 universities
(73 actual coaches honored including multi-year finalists)

13 finalist classes include 5 assistants
4 finalist classes include 6 assistants-2000, 2001, 2004, 2005 (ties in voting)

From Broyles Award to Head Coach

30 of 73 Broyles Award finalists and winners through 2012 have gone on to become
head coaches, that’s 40% of all Broyles’ finalists and winners.

20 are still active head coaches

5 of those coaches have won National Head Coach of the Year Honors

4 won conference coach of the year honors in 2012: Will Muschamp-Florida, Charlie Strong-Louisvlle, Gary Anderson-Utah State, David Cutcliffe-Duke

3 finalists were selected as head coaches following the 2012 season: Kliff Kingsbury-Texas
Tech, Bryan Harsin-Arkansas State, Paul Petrino-Idaho

Broyles Award Winners & Finalists currently serving as Head Coaches

1 Gary Patterson TCU (National Head Coach of the Year 2011)
2 Chris Peterson Boise State (National Head Coach of the Year 2006 & 2009)
3 Will Muschamp Florida (SEC Co-Head Coach of the Year 2012)
4 Jimbo Fisher Florida State
5 Charlie Strong Louisville (Big East Head Coach of the Year 2012)
6 Mark Dantonio Michigan State (Head Coach of the Year 2010)
7 Gus Malzahn Auburn
8 Gary Anderson Utah State (WAC Head Coach of the Year 2012)
9 Dana Holgerson West Virginia
10 David Cutcliffe Duke (ACC Head Coach of the Year 2012)
11 Paul Chryst Pittsburgh
12 Dave Christenson Wyoming
13 Kevin Wilson Indiana
14 Jeff Quinn Buffalo
15 Garrick McGee UAB
16 Norm Chow Hawaii
17 Paul Petrino Idaho
18 Jim Svoboda Central Missouri
19 Bryan Harsin Arkansas State
20 Kliff Kingsbury Texas Tech

Other Winners & Finalists who became Head Coaches(Currently Non Active)

21 Gene Chizik Auburn, Iowa St (National Head Coach of the Year 2010)
22 Ralph Friedgen Maryland (ACC Coach of the Year 2010)
23 Mark Mangino Kansas (National Head Coach of the Year 2007)
24 Randy Shannon Miami
25 Chuck Long San Diego State
26 Keith Burns Tulsa
27 Norries Wilson Columbia
28 Stan Parrish Ball State
29 Shane Montgomery Miami of Ohio
30 Carl Torbush North Carolina

Broyles assistant coaches & their head coaching jobs:

  • Joe Gibbs - Washington Redskins
  • Hayden Fry - Iowa, SMU, North Texas
  • Johnny Majors - Pittsburgh, Tennessee
  • Barry Switzer - Oklahoma, Dallas Cowboys
  • Jimmy Johnson - Miami, Dallas Cowboys, Miami Dolphins, Oklahoma St,
  • Jackie Sherrill - Pittsburgh, Texas A&M, Mississippi St, Washington St
  • Raymond Berry - New England Patriots
  • Doug DIckey - Florida, Tennessee
  • Pepper Rogers - UCLA, Georgia Tech, Kansas
  • Hootie Ingram - Clemson
  • Bo Rein - LSU, North Carolina State
  • Jim Mackenzie - Oklahoma
  • Jerry Claiborne - Maryland, Kentucky
  • Jim Carlen - South Carolina, Texas Tech
  • Pat Jones - Oklahoma State
  • Bill Lewis - Georgia Tech, East Carolina, Wyoming
  • Richard Williamson - Tampa Bay, Memphis State
  • Richard Bell - South Carolina
  • Bill Pace - Vanderbilt
  • Charley Coffey - Virginia Tech
  • Harold Horton - Central Arkansas
  • Ken Turner - Henderson State
  • Ken Stephens - Central Arkansas, Lamar
  • Jesse Branch - Southwest Missouri St, Henderson State
  • Fred Akers* - Texas, Purdue, Wyoming
  • Ken Hatfield* - Arkansas, Clemson, Air Force, Rice
  • Houston Nutt* - Mississippi, Arkansas, Boise St, Murray St

* Players under Broyles, not assistants

Our Selection Committee

Frank Broyles
Vince Dooley
Don James
Dick MacPherson
Grant Teaff
LaVell Edwards
Hayden Fry
Barry Switzer
Johnny Majors
Bobby Bowden

Past Members

Bo Schembechler
Darrell Royal
Tom Osborne

View More »