2010 Broyles Award Finalists Announced

The Broyles Award selection committee has chosen the following five finalists for the 2010 Broyles Award:

  • Dick Bumpas, Texas Christian University, Defensive Coordinator/Defensive Line Coach
  • Paul Chryst, University of Wisconsin, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
  • Dana Holgorsen, Oklahoma State University, Offensive Coordinator
  • Gus Malzahn, Auburn University, Offensive Coordinator, Quarterbacks
  • Greg Roman, Stanford University, Offensive Coordinator

Photos of the finalists are available here.

The 2010 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Monday, December 6 at 11:30 a.m. at the Peabody Hotel in Little Rock, AR. The Broyles Award is presented by The Rotary Club of Little Rock. The winner of the 2009 Broyles Award was Kirby Smart, University of Alabama.

About the Broyles Award:

There are few coaches whose efforts have forever impacted the game of college football. Bear Bryant, Knute Rockne, Frank Leahy and Eddie Robinson have set the standard for victories and championships on the gridiron. However when it comes to selecting, developing and producing great assistant coaches, the legacy of Frank Broyles stands alone. Former Broyles assistant coaches who have become head coaches have gone on to coach in 20 percent of all Super Bowls and win almost 15 percent of all Super Bowl titles plus five national collegiate championships, more than 40 conference titles and more than 2,000 games. More than 25 Broyles assistants went on to become head coaches at the college or professional level, including: Joe Gibbs, Hayden Fry, Raymond Berry, Jimmy Johnson, Johnny Majors, Jackie Sherrill and Barry Switzer.

In 1996, the Broyles Award was established to recognize the dedicated, hard-working assistants like those who worked for Broyles, and to date, seventy plus finalists and fourteen winners have been honored. Like many of Broyles' assistants who went on to do great things, numerous coaches recognized by the Broyles Award have since remained in the spotlight, with 20 percent of finalists and winners going on to become head coaches.

The finalists are chosen by a 9 person panel that may be the most prestigious of any awards panel, representing 8 national championships, more than 1,600 victories, over 60 conference titles, 124 bowl game appearances and 9 national head coach of the year honors. Broyles Award Panelists: Former Arkansas Athletic Director and Coach Frank Broyles, former Georgia Coach Vince Dooley, former Washington Coach Don James, former Syracuse Coach Dick MacPherson, former Baylor Coach Grant Teaff, former Brigham Young Coach LaVell Edwards, former Iowa Coach Hayden Fry, former Oklahoma Coach Barry Switzer, former Tennessee and Pittsburgh Coach Johnny Majors.