Auburn's Malzahn Captures 2010 Broyles Award

December 6, 2010; Little Rock, Ark. - The nation's top team now officially has the nation's top assistant coach. Auburn University offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach, Gus Malzahn is the 15th recipient of the Broyles Award, given annually to the top assistant coach in college football. Malzahn was honored, along with his fellow finalists, at a Monday luncheon at the Peabody Hotel in Little Rock. The winner receives a cash prize, a large Broyles Award plaque, a watch, a custom-fitted set of golf clubs from Adams Golf, a custom-made sport coat, and a personalized Broyles Award Trophy valued at more than $5,000. Afterwards, the winner and his spouse are flown to Orlando to represent the award at The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show broadcast on ESPN.

Complete list of the 2010 Broyles Awards finalists:

Dick Bumpas, Texas Christian University, Defensive Coordinator/Defensive Line Coach
Paul Chryst, University of Wisconsin, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Dana Holgorsen, Oklahoma State University, Offensive Coordinator
Gus Malzahn, Auburn University, Offensive Coordinator, Quarterbacks
Greg Roman, Stanford University, Offensive Coordinator

About the Broyles Award

There are few coaches whose efforts have forever impacted the game of college football. Bear Bryant, Knute Rockne, Frank Leahy and Eddie Robinson have set the standard for victories and championships on the gridiron. However when it comes to selecting, developing and producing great assistant coaches, the legacy of Frank Broyles stands alone. Former Broyles assistant coaches who have become head coaches have gone on to coach in 20 percent of all Super Bowls and win almost 15 percent of all Super Bowl titles plus five national collegiate championships, more than 40 conference titles and more than 2,000 games. More than 25 Broyles assistants went on to become head coaches at the college or professional level, including: Joe Gibbs, Hayden Fry, Raymond Berry, Jimmy Johnson, Johnny Majors, Jackie Sherrill and Barry Switzer.  In 1996, the Broyles Award was established to recognize the dedicated, hard-working assistants like those who worked for Broyles, and to date, seventy plus finalists and fourteen winners have been honored. Like many of Broyles' assistants who went on to do great things, numerous coaches recognized by the Broyles Award have since remained in the spotlight, with 20 percent of finalists and winners going on to become head coaches. The finalists are chosen by a 9 person panel that may be the most prestigious of any awards panel,
representing 8 national championships, more than 1,600 victories, over 60 conference titles, 124 bowl game appearances and 9 national head coach of the year honors.   Broyles Award Panelists: Former Arkansas Athletic Director and Coach Frank Broyles, former Georgia Coach Vince Dooley, former Washington Coach Don James, former Syracuse Coach Dick MacPherson, former Baylor Coach Grant Teaff, former Brigham Young Coach LaVell Edwards, former Iowa Coach Hayden Fry, former Oklahoma Coach Barry Switzer, former Tennessee and Pittsburgh Coach Johnny Majors.

The Selection Process

Each NCAA Division I head coach may nominate one of his assistants for the Broyles Award. Every assistant that is nominated, but not selected as a finalist, receives a personalized wall plaque recognizing his efforts. The finalists are chosen by a nine-man panel that may be the most prestigious of any awards panel, representing eight national championships, more than 1,600 victories, over 60 conference titles, 124 bowl game appearances and nine national head coach of the year honors.

Broyles Award Panelists

  • Former Arkansas Athletic Director and Coach Frank Broyles
  • Former Georgia Coach Vince Dooley
  • Former Washington Coach Don James
  • Former Syracuse Coach Dick MacPherson
  • Former Baylor Coach Grant Teaff
  • Former Brigham Young Coach LaVell Edwards
  • Former Iowa Coach Hayden Fry
  • Former Oklahoma Coach Barry Switzer
  • Former Tennessee and Pittsburgh Coach Johnny Majors

Previous Broyles Award Winners

  • Florida State defensive coordinator Mickey Andrews (1996)
  • Former Michigan defensive coordinator Jim Herrmann (1997), now linebackers coach for the New York Jets
  • Former Tennessee offensive coordinator David Cutcliffe (1998), now head coach at Duke
  • Former Georgia Tech offensive coordinator Ralph Friedgen (1999), now head coach at Maryland
  • Former Oklahoma offensive coordinator Mark Mangino (2000), now head coach at Kansas.
  • Former Miami defensive coordinator Randy Shannon (2001), now head coach at Miami
  • Former Southern California offensive coordinator Norm Chow (2002),  now UCLA offensive coordinator
  • Former Georgia defensive coordinator Brian VanGorder (2003), now linebackers coach for the Atlanta Falcons
  • Former Auburn defensive coordinator Gene Chizik (2004), now head coach at Iowa  State
  • Texas offensive coordinator Greg Davis (2005)
  • Virginia Tech defensive coordinator Bud Foster (2006)
  • Ohio State defensive coordinator Jim Heacock (2007)
  • Oklahoma offensive coordinator Kevin Wilson (2008)
  • Alabama defensive coordinator Kirby Smart (2009)

Broyles assistant coaches and their head-coaching jobs:

  • Joe Gibbs: Washington Redskins
  • Hayden Fry: Iowa, SMU, North Texas
  • Johnny Majors: Pittsburgh, Tennessee
  • Barry Switzer: Oklahoma, Dallas Cowboys
  • Jimmy Johnson: Miami, Dallas Cowboys, Miami Dolphins, Oklahoma State
  • Jackie Sherrill: Pittsburgh, Texas A&M, Mississippi State, Washington  State
  • Raymond Berry: New England Patriots
  • Doug Dickey: Florida, Tennessee
  • Pepper Rogers: UCLA, Georgia Tech, Kansas
  • Hootie Ingram: Clemson
  • Bo Rein: LSU, North Carolina State
  • Jim Mackenzie: Oklahoma
  • Jerry Claiborne: Maryland, Kentucky
  • Jim Carlen: South Carolina, Texas Tech
  • Pat Jones: Oklahoma State
  • Bill Lewis: Georgia Tech, East Carolina, Wyoming
  • Richard Williamson: Tampa Bay, Memphis State
  • Richard Bell: South Carolina
  • Bill Pace: Vanderbilt
  • Charley Coffey: Virginia Tech
  • Harold Horton: Central Arkansas
  • Ken Turner: Henderson State
  • Ken Stephens: Central Arkansas, Lamar
  • Jesse Branch: Southwest Missouri State, Henderson State
  • Fred Akers: Texas, Purdue, Wyoming*
  • Ken Hatfield: Arkansas, Clemson, Air Force, Rice*
  • Houston Nutt: Mississippi, Arkansas, Boise State, Murray State*

*Denotes players under Broyles, not assistants

Click here to view Finalist Photos

National College Football Awards Association

The Broyles Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official Web site,

For more information contact:
David Bazzel
Executive Director, Broyles Award
501) 258-8315

Karen Fetzer
The Rotary Club of Little Rock
501) 663-0063