Texas' Davis wins 10th Annual Broyles Award

January 17, 2006; Little Rock, Ark. - Officials from The Little Rock Downtown Rotary Club presented University of Texas offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach Greg Davis with the 10th Annual Frank Broyles Award during a luncheon at the Doubletree Hotel in Little Rock. The award is given annually to the nation's top NCAA Division I assistant football coach. Davis was also a Broyles Award finalist in 1999.

Davis has been no stranger to success during his 33 years of coaching, but during the 2005 season, his offense became the definition of success. In beating two-time defending national champion Southern California 41-38 for the national title in the Rose Bowl on Jan. 4, the Longhorns became the highest scoring team in NCAA history with 652 points and gave UT its fourth national championship and first since 1970 with a school record 13 victories and no losses.

The Offensive Statistics at Texas
Texas' achievements during Coach Davis' tenure include:

  • Davis has produced the top six scoring seasons in school history, six of the top seven passing seasons in Texas history and five of the top seven seasons in total yardage.
  • The 2005 Longhorns became just the fifth team in NCAA history to average more than 50 points a game.
  • The Longhorns scored 40 or more points in 12 of 13 games; no other team broke the 40-point mark more than nine times.
  • Texas scored more than 50 points seven times, more than 60 points four times and broke the 70-point mark against Colorado in the Big 12 Championship Game.
  • The Longhorns led the nation in passing efficiency (160.96) and ranked third in total offense (512.08 yards per game).
  • Their rushing offense ranked second nationally (274.92 yards per game) and first in the Big 12.
  • Their passing offense ranked 40th nationally and third in the Big 12, improving from 165.2 yards per game in 2004 to 237.2 yards per game in 2005.
  • The Longhorns broke the school record of 41.4 points per game set in 1969 and the record for total offense of 472.1 set in 1969.

For his selection, Davis was awarded $2,500 and a 100-pound cast bronze statue worth $5,000. All finalists received $1,000 and a set of TaylorMade golf clubs and a golf bag, as well as gifts for their spouses and premium lodging and transportation.

The Broyles Award Finalists
The other Broyles Award finalists were Oregon offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach Gary Crowton; Virginia Tech defensive coordinator, inside linebackers coach and special teams coach Bud Foster; Alabama defensive coordinator, assistant head coach and linebackers coach Joe Kines; Iowa defensive coordinator and linebackers coach Norm Parker; and UCLA quarterbacks coach Jim Svoboda.

About the Broyles Award
In the prestigious history of college football, there are few coaches whose efforts have forever impacted the game. Bear Bryant, Knute Rockne, Frank Leahy and Eddie Robinson have set the standard for victories and championships on the gridiron. However, when it comes to selecting, developing and producing great assistant coaches, the legacy of Frank Broyles stands alone. Former Broyles assistant coaches who have become head coaches have gone on to coach in 20 percent of all Super Bowls and win almost 15 percent of all Super Bowl titles plus four national collegiate championships, more than 40 conference titles and more than 2,000 games. More than 25 Broyles assistants went on to become head coaches at the college or professional level, including Joe Gibbs, Hayden Fry, Raymond Berry, Jimmy Johnson, Johnny Majors, Jackie Sherrill and Barry Switzer (full list below).

Broyles assistant coaches and their head-coaching jobs:

Joe Gibbs - Washington Redskins
Hayden Fry - Iowa, SMU, N. Texas
Johnny Majors - Pittsburgh, Tennessee
Barry Switzer - Oklahoma, Dallas Cowboys Jimmy Johnson - Miami, Dallas Cowboys, Miami Dolphins, Oklahoma State Jackie Sherrill - Pittsburgh, Texas A&M, Mississippi State, Washington State Raymond Berry - New England Patriots Doug Dickey - Florida, Tennessee Pepper Rogers - UCLA, Georgia Tech, Kansas Hootie Ingram - Clemson Bo Rein - LSU, North Carolina State Jim Mackenzie - Oklahoma Jerry Claiborne - Maryland, Kentucky Jim Carlen - South Carolina, Texas Tech Pat Jones - Oklahoma State Bill Lewis - Georgia Tech, East Carolina, Wyoming Richard Williamson - Tampa Bay, Memphis State Richard Bell - South Carolina Bill Pace - Vanderbilt Charley Coffey - Virginia Tech Harold Horton - Central Arkansas Ken Turner - Henderson State Ken Stephens - Central Arkansas, Lamar Jesse Branch - Southwest Missouri State, Henderson State Fred Akers* - Texas, Purdue, Wyoming Ken Hatfield* - Arkansas, Clemson, Air Force, Rice Houston Nutt* - Arkansas, Boise State, Murray State *Denotes players under Broyles, not assistants In 1996, the Broyles Award was established to recognize some of the most dedicated, hardest working people in America, the college football assistant coach. In the past 10 years, the award has done just that honoring 54 finalists and 10 winners. In the first nine years of the Broyles Award, 12 finalists or winners have become head coaches.

The Selection Process
Each NCAA Division I head coach may nominate one of his assistants for the Broyles Award. Every assistant that is nominated but not selected as a finalist, receives a personalized wall plaque recognizing his efforts. The finalists are chosen by an eight-man panel that may be the most prestigious of any awards panel, representing four National Championships, more than 1,300 victories, 59 conference titles, 112 bowl game appearances and nine National Head Coach of the Year honors.

The panelists are:

  • Arkansas Athletic Director and former Coach Frank Broyles
  • Former Michigan Coach Bo Schembechler
  • Former Georgia Coach Vince Dooley
  • Former Washington Coach Don James
  • Former Syracuse Coach Dick MacPherson
  • Former Baylor Coach Grant Teaff
  • Former Brigham Young Coach LaVell Edwards
  • Former Iowa Coach Hayden Fry

The Broyles Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association. The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of major collegiate football awards. The purpose of the NCFAA is to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of college football's various awards. The NCFAA also encourages professionalism and the highest standards possible for the administration of college football awards and the selection of their winners.

# # #

SidebarPrevious Broyles Award Winners

  • 1996 - Mickey Andrews, Florida State defensive coordinator
  • 1997 - Jim Herrmann, Michigan defensive coordinator
  • 1998 - David Cutcliffe, Tennessee offensive coordinator
  • 1999 - Ralph Friedgen, former Georgia Tech offensive coordinator, now coach at Maryland
  • 2000 - Mark Mangino, former Oklahoma offensive coordinator, now the coach at Kansas
  • 2001 - Randy Shannon, Miami defensive coordinator
  • 2002 - Norm Chow, former Southern California offensive coordinator, now offensive coordinator of the Tennessee Titans
  • 2003 - Brian VanGorder, former Georgia defensive coordinator, now coach at Georgia Southern
  • 2004 - Gene Chizik, former Auburn defensive coordinator, now co-defensive coordinator and assistant head coach at Texas